NOLA.COM: De La Salle High held graduation May 13 in New Orleans

NOLA CommunityBy NOLA Community on May 30, 2013 at 1:42 PM, updated May 30, 2013 at 2:34 PM

Click Here to view the original article on


De La Salle High’s 61st graduation was held May 13 at Holy Name of Jesus Church in New Orleans. Margaret Fraizer (pictured left) of Algiers is valedictorian. Christine O’Brien (pictured right) of River Ridge is salutatorian. Fraizer, the daughter of Patrick and Patricia Fraizer, will attend Tulane. O’Brien, the daughter of John O’Brien and Adriane O’Brien, will attend LSU to major in engineering.

Fraizer was the recipient of Tulane’s Founder’s Scholarship as well as a TOPS Scholar. At DLS, Fraizer was a member of the Band, the National Honor Society, the National English Honor Society, and Mu Alpha Theta, and served as Junior Drum Major, then Senior Drum Major of the Band, and most recently earned the John Philip Sousa Award for music.

OBrien  was a member of the National Honor Society and Mu Alpha Theta.

Other honors graduates were Allison Arnold, Phillip Blake Jr., Matthew Díaz, Ashton Guidry, Gary Hemelt II, Elizabeth Melillo, Lisa Nguyen, Payton Nisby, Daijá Smith, Taylor Tebbe, Zachary Webb, and Aaron J. Wiseman.

Other graduates included Michael Adams, Donya Alexis, Nicholas Arceneaux, Tiger Arukwé, Margareta Babst, Dana Benelli, Brandi Beninate, Collin Buckley, Daniel Burghardt Jr., Daniel Burlette, Jonathan Butler, Daysha Camp, Victoria Campi, Sidney Cerami, Ashley Cobb, Travis Cummings, Rayanda Davis, Brittany Deckwa, James Dodson, Allie Edgecombe, Landon Falgoust, André Fontenelle, Peter Fuch, Peter Gniady, James Greatrex, Emily Harris, Evan Harris, Darielle Hayes, Bethany Hebert, Cooper Hoffpauir, Jarmal Howell, Meghan Hunger, Gregory Jacob III, Danshawn Jenkins, Barrett Juneau, Gabrielle Kehoe, Henry Kirsch, Rylee Laborde, Anna Le, Morgan Ledet, Dwayne Lockett II, Melanie Long, Mallory Mancuso,

Irene Marino, Chandler Mire, Christy Morales, Annissa Moses, Amanda Moyer, Rachel Neathamer, Timothy Nguyen, Dan Obi-Imegwu, Hayley Olivier, Sarah Oster, Jonné Porter, Christian Priola, Chelsea Pritchett, Jenny Ramelli, William Robinson IV, Marco Rodriguez, Lake Royster IV, Mason Ryan, Carlos Sandoval, George Schexnayder Jr., Devan Sisung, Lawrence Sivori, Hunter Stansberry, Brody Taylor, Anthony Thomas, Cleofe Tirado, Maria Tran, Noel Usannaz, Vidal Villela, Emily Vindel, Emily Vogel, John Weldon III, Margaret Willis, Wenfei Xiong, Qi Yang, Lalitpat Yimpong, John Yurttas Jr.

Several major awards were presented. The Cavalier of the Year went to Brody Taylor for participation in academics and activities. The Association Award, chosen by the senior class went to Taylor Tebbe. The Pro Deo et Patria, for service to school and community went to Gary Hemelt.

Margaret Fraizer and Travis Cummings earned the Sedes Sapientiae award for service to the school. The Lasallian Provincial award went to Annissa Moses and Travis Cummings.

The final award, the Signum Fidei award is considered the highest award presented to a senior or seniors who best represent the ideal of a Lasallian student. This year, the Dean of the faculty, Dr. Warren Caire, AFSC, presented the award to Brody Taylor and Taylor Tebbe


  • Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Follow Us



De La Salle High School operates under a non-discriminatory policy which admits students of any race to all rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at this school, and further meaning, specifically but not exclusively, a policy of making no discrimination on the basis of race in administration of education policies, application for admission, or scholarship and loan program and athletic and extracurricular programs.